Sink or Swim: The History of Bogert Pool
Bogert Park is a summertime oasis from the City’s downtown street grid. The pool, tennis courts, band shell and pavilion that shelters a vibrant Farmer’s Market all offer outdoor community gathering spaces. Built in 1938, Bogert Pool at 303 South Church Avenue is the only outdoor municipal pool in town and is home to untold numbers of swim lessons each summer. The pool and band shell are reminders of our community’s investment in publicly-accessible recreational facilities at the end of the 1930’s.
The City purchased what is now Bogert Park in two land acquisitions. In 1917, the City paid Elizabeth Bogert, sister of deceased Bozeman Mayor John V. Bogert, $3,500 for the 4.6 acre vacant parcel that is now the north end of the park. The area, which was described as “Bogert’s Grove” as early as 1888, served as an informal camp ground within the City Limits.
The City expanded the park four years later by purchasing a 2.8 acre parcel located south of Bogert’s Grove for $3,500 from Harry & Marian MacElroy. On September 1, 1921, the Bozeman Daily Chronicle reported, “The board of park commissioners recommended that the council purchase the property adjoining and south of Bogert’s grove for recreation, park or for an addition to the tourist camp grounds.”